A is for Ahool

My Current Report on the State of Cryptids

This time last year, my Instagram DMs were flooded with messages about the Amarillo Zoo cryptid photo. From the Today Show to USA Today, the mystery creature made its rounds as scientists, journalists, cryptozoologists, and self-professed cryptid hunters tried to identify it.

At the time, I imagined that I was experiencing the kind of notoriety and fame that Dr. Jeff Meldrum must encounter every day. ME? People wanted my thoughts on this little fuzzy cryptid?I was beyond excited to share my opinion, and that opinion was that we were looking at a photo of the Fantastic Mr. Fox.Also at this time last year, I had promised our favorite horror editor, Emily Hughes, a cryptid-themed blog post for Tor Nightfire. I never got around to writing that post because I had to pack up my life and move from Boston to Pennsylvania. Sorry, Emily!But this is my chance to redeem myself. Why?Because—incoming obligatory book update—my novel, which is about the unknown creatures that lurk in the woods, now has an official title and it has a Goodreads page!Before you read any further, head over to Goodreads and add IT CAME FROM THE TREES to your virtual TBR shelf.

. . .

. . .

. . .

Thank you for doing that!Back to the business of cryptids. Got your coffee? Good. Let’s go!I think about cryptids a lot at this time of year. Nothing screams summer quite like cryptids! Unless, of course, while camping in a remote location you hear the big guy hooting and hollering with your own ears. Sierra Sounds, anyone?Cryptids are poised for the summertime spotlight because this is the season of hiking, camping, boating, and star-gazing—activities that significantly increase your chances of coming into contact with an unidentified creature.If these beings do exist, I am almost confident that I will probably never encounter them. Jersey Devil? No because I stay out of the Pine Barrens. Bigfoot? Nah. I’m too scared of ticks and the dark to ever go camping. The Mothman? I avoid West Virginia and bridges. Dogman? Absolutely not because I don’t go outside at night . . . and see my previous note about staying out of the woods.If you’re not the adventurous type and you prefer to enjoy cryptozoology from the safety of your couch (like me!), then follow along as I share some of my favorite cryptid media with you.

white dome tent in forest during night time

Since 1934 we’ve been enamored with the Loch Ness Monster. Even though the surgeon’s photo is now widely considered a hoax, that hasn’t kept our collective fear of sea monsters at bay. Our planet is more than 70% water, so it stands to reason that something larger than whales and more frightening than sharks could be lurking beneath the surface, right?That certainly seems to be the case in the 2019 film Sweetheart, which drops viewers onto a deserted island and then forces us to watch as the main character is terrorized by a cryptid from the deep.

Frightening cryptids from the deep aren’t your thing? I bet you like mermaids, huh?You won’t after you read Mira Grant’s Into the Drowning Deep. Mermaids and mucous combine for a deep-sea horror story that technician Steve Hadley would appreciate.

If you know me, then you know about my enduring love of werewolves, so you shouldn’t be surprised that my ears perk up whenever someone utters the word “dogman.”And it is precisely why American Werewolves is my favorite cozy cryptid documentary. I love turning off all the lights and watching this one right before bed, and if I’m lucky, the local coyotes will howl while I’m watching.

And a big shout out to Linda Godfrey—the journalist who first taught a young Ally about the Beast of Bray Road. Real Wolfmen: True Encounters in Modern America is a must-read if you want to cuddle up with some alarming dogman encounters. Rest in peace, Linda.

On to the OG cryptid.Skunkape. Yowie. Yeti. If you’re relatively new to the world of cryptozoology, then Bigfoot is likely the cryptid with which you’re most familiar.If you don’t know much about Bigfoot, then Laura Krantz’s Wild Thing podcast is a great place to start learning. Laura approaches the subject of Bigfoot the same way that Dana Scully would—through the lens of science. Pinna has adapted this podcast for children, and it’s available as a book!

Wild Thing

From beef jerky commercials to marathon races to children’s movies and toys, you’ve probably seen friendly images of Bigfoot plastered across pop culture. But if you’re looking for a story that shows the creature’s hairier side, then the 2014 horror film Exists might be the movie night you’re looking for.

From Eduardo Sánchez (co-director and writer of The Blair Witch Project), this creepy flick follows a group of friends who venture out to a cabin in the woods and encounter the most infamous cryptid of all. If you’ve even glanced at a cryptid-related forum, then you know that the number one question that arises is this: Why didn’t someone get it on camera? And maybe this horror movie works so well because it uses the found footage format to address that question.Now, how about some actual found footage? The Patterson/Gimlin film has been around since 1967, and its legitimacy is still debated today. Will we debate these next found footage photos for the next 50+ years? Maybe not but that’s only because in this age of technology, new cryptid evidence presents itself faster than you can say chupacabra.Before we dig into these, let’s address the Bigfoot in the room. People love to point out that most cryptid encounters are false stories. You can deny the validity of an encounter. That’s allowed. But you can’t deny that a good yarn is a good yarn. So, consume cryptid evidence with caution and good humor.

This eerie blue-tinged trail cam photo is the property of R. Jacobs and was taken in 2007 in Northwest Pennsylvania. What is it? I don’t know. The BFRO (Bigfoot Field Researchers Organization) reports that it’s a Bigfoot. Some people say it’s a bear. I think it’s unnerving to look at. What do you think it is?

This trail cam footage comes from Georgia, but I can’t provide much information beyond that. It popped up on several cryptid Facebook groups back in 2019, and people have been arguing about it ever since. Mountain lion eye? Dog eye? No se. But I will say that its eye freaks me out. There’s wisdom in that eye. What do you see when you look at this photo?

That’s all for now, you creeps and weirdos. But don’t worry. There are literally hundreds of cryptids that I didn’t cover, so I’ll be back. Stay tuned.And keep your eyes on the Daily Mail. It’s summertime, which means that new Nessie footage is bound to surface. (I’m so sorry. I don’t know why I am this way.)

Ahool. Winged cryptid. Indonesia.